I Must be Living Twice: New and Selected Poems

I Must be Living Twice: New and Selected Poems

Regular price $16.99 $0.00 Unit price per

Author: Eileen Myles

Publisher: Harper Collins (2015)

A collection of thrilling verse, including both new poems and beloved favorites, from the celebrated poet, modern cult icon, and author of Chelsea Girls.

Eileen Myles’ work is known for its blend of reality and fiction, the sublime and the ephemeral. Their work opens readers to astonishing new considerations of familiar places, like the East Village in their iconic Chelsea Girls, and invites them into lush—and sometimes horrid—dream worlds, imbuing the landscapes of their writing with the vividness and energy of fantasy.

I Must Be Living Twice brings together selections from the poet’s previous work with a set of bold new poems that reflect their sardonic, unapologetic, and fiercely intellectual literary voice. Steeped in the culture of New York City, Myles’ milieu, I Must Be Living Twice is a prism refracting a radical world and a compelling life.

"Myles is relentlessly casual, and even joyful. [They] have a good time journeying through Hell, and like a hip Virgil, she’s happy to show us the way.”