The Collected Poems of Lucile Clifton 1965-2010 (Hardcover)

The Collected Poems of Lucile Clifton 1965-2010 (Hardcover)

Regular price $35.00 $0.00 Unit price per

Author: Lucille Clifton

Editors: Kevin Young and Michael S. Glaser

Publisher: BOA Editions (2012)

The Collected Poems of Lucille Clifton 1965–2010 combines all eleven of Lucille Clifton's published collections with more than fifty previously unpublished poems. The unpublished poems feature early poems from 1965–1969, a collection-in-progress titled the book of days (2008), and a poignant selection of final poems. An insightful foreword by Nobel Prize–winning author Toni Morrison and comprehensive afterword by noted poet Kevin Young frames Clifton's lifetime body of work, providing the definitive statement about this major America poet's career.

"What is so valuable is that [Clifton] goes directly and not without anger and confusion into these life-and-death matters, allowing the reader to empathize, and share, in her recognition that survival is a triumph. What is even more valuable is that she recognizes that the reader too survives … When Clifton writes such poems, she is among the very few true poets of our times.”

–The Nation