Paul Metcalf: Collected Works Vol. 2: 1976-1986 (Hardcover)

Paul Metcalf: Collected Works Vol. 2: 1976-1986 (Hardcover)

Regular price $35.00 $0.00 Unit price per

Author: Paul Metcalf

Publisher: Coffee House Press (1997)

Coffee House Press continues the publication of the complete collected works of Paul Metcalf with the release of Volume II in the series. This volume includes hilarious scandalous tales of the founding of Washington, D.C., harrowing vignettes of wounded Civil War soldiers, and poetic tributes to Willie Mays, Edgar Allen Poe, John Wilkes Booth, and the quirky names of America’s small towns. This volume is comprised of the complete texts of I-57, Zip Odes, Willie’s Throw, U.S. Dept. of the Interior, Both, The Island, and Waters of Potowmack.

Published in limited editions throughout his career by small idealistic presses, Metcalf has nonetheless attracted a loyal following, including such fans as Robert Creeley, William Gass, Wendell Berry, and Guy Davenport. His reevaluation of our history, his exploration of our multiethnic roots, and his ecological concerns make his work especially timely as we near the end of the twentieth century.