15-Second Plays

15-Second Plays

Regular price $12.00 $0.00 Unit price per

Editors: The Debate Society

Publisher: Ugly Duckling Presse (2012)

Contributors: Annie Baker, Mike Batistick, Adam Bock, Joshua Conkel, Jason Craig, Lisa D’Amour, Ann Marie Healy, Kyle Jarrow, Lally Katz, Kristen Kosmas, Kirk Lynn, Clay McLeod Chapman, Itamar Moses, Donna di Novelli, Sylvan Oswald, and Reggie Watts

The Debate Society asked a group of fellow playwrights and friends to contribute to a chapbook. The stipulation: Write a play intended to last 15 seconds.

"The Debate Society asked me to write a blurb for this book and I agreed because I love everything about The Debate Society. I love everything they do, think, wear and stand for. I also love the playwrights they have chosen for this collection. “Who ever thought of a 15-second play??? What will they be like?” I wondered as I downloaded the file, 15 minutes ago, preparing to read them. Now, having read them, I can tell you. They’re tiny, vivid bursts of theatrical imagination. They’re crystalline distillations of theatrical essence. They’re candid snapshots of 17 distinct theatrical souls. I love this tiny book. And I love the irony of a blurb that is longer than the plays it is blurbing."

–Lisa Kron