Along the Way: Artwork from 2011-2020 (Hardcover)

Along the Way: Artwork from 2011-2020 (Hardcover)

Regular price $40.00 $0.00 Unit price per

Artist: Peter Brötzmann

Publisher: Wolke Verlag (2021)

The U.S. release of Brötzmann's new book, Along The Way, chronicling the past decade of his artwork. This beautiful 228-page hardback featuring full color reproductions was produced by CvsD, Trost Records, and Brötzmann himself, and includes essays by Peter Brötzmann, Thomas Milroth, John Corbett, Markus Müller, Sotiris Kontos, Stephen O'Malley, Heather Leigh, and Karl Lippegaus.

“The art that Brötzmann produces was always there, it was there before the beginning of time. It was there before he became “Machine Gun.” For the public eye this art was initially used to support his designs, you see sculptures, collages, later also watercolors etc. as the starting point or ball-bearing of what became the incredible string of fantastic record covers, posters, fliers etc. of the past 50+ years.

The art of Brötzmann, the visual art, is the kind of art that he is able to do anytime anywhere. It is about finding something that was lost and once he finds it, he just recombines it into that which becomes his art. Simple. But maybe he also tricks us into thinking that. What is clear to see is that he can take three crayons and some discarded piece of paper, paper that is always around us and then, in what looks like nano-seconds, he sketches a vibrant representation of something that often can be associated with “Home” (a cup, a house, a tray) and/or “Away” (a ship, a landscape). And these small but primary interventions make us see the things that we usually do not see, the potentialities that we so often discard and leave behind as we just continue, pass by, walk on.”

–Markus Müller